Sexual Health (Locala)

Please check Locala's website for up-to-date information on this service



Clinics in Kirklees and Bradford
West Yorkshire


Leave your Feedback

Reviews (8)

Very friendly staff, got what I needed

April 3, 2024
The staff were very quick and friendly, making sure to explain everything to you. The waiting room had music and a good vibe. Nice, informative receptionist too. Good facilities including toilets.

Reply from Sexual Health (Locala)

Thank you for leaving this fabulous feedback!
Service user experience matters to us a lot - we hope that your comments help other people living locally to feel confident with our services if they have not visited us before :)


Provider responded

Unable to book appointments

June 7, 2022
Tried for a week being on hold for upto 45 minutes before it cuts you off! Health professionals always excellent if only you could get to see them, their automated telephony is awful and clearly not enough staff answering phones!

Reply from Sexual Health (Locala)

I am so sorry to hear that you haven't been able to get through on the phone. I will feed this back to the team. I do know there have been some issues recently with the telephone system and they have been trying to rectify this. I hope that next time you try you will find there has been an improvement.
Best wishes

Provider responded

Long wait times but polite staff, not many

October 3, 2019
Not many facilities to suit different people's lifestyles and personal mental health or situations such as children or babies.
Long wait times which I semi understood for my coil removal, however it was nearly 2.5 hours and over 10-15 people went in before me.
There were no signs for toilets or information about a drink even a cup of water or a cup of tea.

Reply from Sexual Health (Locala)

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We are sorry that your experience when using our service was frustrating.
We would like to gather more information from you to help us investigate further and prevent this happening again.
We have listened to your feedback and introduced some new signs at Princess Royal Hospital to inform service users where the toilets are. We appreciate that this should have been clear. Sorry.
Please contact me by email -
If you can send me your contact number I will give you a ring to gather more details
Again, thank you,

Provider responded

Truly awful

September 6, 2019
The waiting time at the drop in clinic is awful. Even when you're told you're on a priority list it can be more than 2 hours with no idea where you are in the queue. Parking is expensive.
The staff of you get to see them (I haven't always) are good but the service is set up badly
Was told by the reception I couldn't make appointment with doctor so I left as no childcare. He then called me & booked me an appointment.
They need to re-think & find a way to see people quicker, so many people booked in & waited but left.

Reply from Sexual Health (Locala)

Thank you for your feedback we are 100% committed to hearing patient experiences and welcome suggestions for improving our service where possible. We do acknowledge that the waiting times can be long & frustrating when attending our Queue and Wait sessions. It is difficult for us to keep everyone in the loop in terms of how long they will have to wait, as a lot of our clinicians have different skills so it does depend on which team members are working and how many of them there are in a clinic.

We do look at our service regularly to try and meet the needs of those attending, it isn’t easy to make it accessible for everyone, all the time so we apologise for this. We are trying our best! Thank you for acknowledging that the staff are lovely. we will pass this on to the team and their managers.

If you have not managed to get in to the service for the support you need then please let us have a contact number for you and we will do what we can to assist. My email address

Thank you
Emma (Engagement Manager)

Provider responded


May 10, 2019
Attended Huddersfield sexual health service. Nursing staff were brilliant.
But, I went under the impression that you could give whatever name you wanted. This is clearly stated on the NHS website. I was pulled up because me details didn’t match NHS records. Speaking to other sexual health services across the country has indicated that indeed this is the NHS policy and Locala could be in breach of national policy.
I won’t attend again on this basis.

Reply from Sexual Health (Locala)

We are more than happy for you to use another name when you attend clinic, all that we would ask is that you always use the same name on every occasion so that we can ensure that the medical records we hold for you are correct and consistent. If you don’t want to use your own name, you can advise the receptionist of this on arrival, or when handing your form back to them, and we can register you on our system as the name you want to be known as.

We do of course encourage everyone to use their own name, as our clinical system is private and confidential, therefore no one outside of the service can view the information that you share with us, unless we feel that you would be at risk of any harm if we didn’t share with other professionals. This should have been explained to you during your visit and I would offer my apologies if this wasn’t the case. Following your feedback we have reminded staff that clients can register under a different name with the service.

Provider responded

Very impatient service was told by nurse too

November 2, 2017
Phoned to see if I had to book but told too busy to speak to me very rude

Reply from Sexual Health (Locala)

I am very sorry to hear of your experience and would like to offer my apologies for any upset this may have caused. I would very much like to investigate your concerns further and would therefore be grateful if you could contact the Customer Liaison Team on 0303 003 4529 (option 1). In the meantime, the Team Leader for the Sexual Health service is to speak with all Receptionists and remind them of the standards of customer service and courtesy that should be provided to all callers.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to make your posting so that we get chance to improve the service for all future clients.

Provider responded


June 14, 2016
Often say that they cant see you for walk in because they are too busy when there is no one else there waiting. And other times waiting up to 2 hours to be seen.

CaSH Clinic - Dewsbury Medical Centre

July 2, 2015
Very friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Put at ease straight away. Can't praise highly enough.