Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) - Mental Health

What does IAPT treat?
• Stress
• Sleep
• Depression
• Anxiety
• Phobias
• Bereavement
• Relationship difficulties
• Emotional difficulties

Long Term Conditions whereby a psychological component is present
• Diabetes
• Arthritis
• Heart Disease
• COPD
• Irritable Bowel Syndrome
• Musculoskeletal Disorder
• Chronic Pain
• Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

What doesn’t IAPT treat?
• Patients who are at immediate risk of self-harm or suicide and require a more urgent assessment
• Patients who are experiencing a psychotic illness
• People’s principal problem is forensic in nature
• People who are currently in a chaotic stage of life i.e. homelessness

Contact

01484 343700

4th Floor, Large Mill
Folly Hall Mills
St Thomas' Road
Huddersfield
HD1 3LT

Location

Leave your Feedback


Reviews (13)

Unhelpful and not nice to deal with.

October 11, 2021
Unhelpful reponses via email. Not helpful at all, 'Improving Access'... for some. I have severe social anxiety, I can't use the phone due to phobia and rarely leave the house. All I wanted was access to their online therapy and get told to have an assessment on the phone without them acknowledging what I said in the email. The responses are unprofessional and have bad grammar. They don't want to find alternative ways to help people at all. This isn't the first time I've dealt with them and they've had an attitude every single time.
Anonymous

Reply from Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) - Mental Health

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry that your experience has not lived up to expected standards. All comments received will be taken forward with the appropriate team so we can improve.

If you would like to contact us direct with your concerns please contact our customer services team by:
• Telephone – Freephone 0800 587 2108
• Email – customer.servicesSWYT@nhs.net
• Post – Customer Services, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS, Foundation Trust, Block 10, Fieldhead, Ouchthorpe Lane, Wakefield WF1 3SP
• Fax – 01924 327668


Provider responded

IAPT and CPN at Folly hall Appalling service.

August 12, 2021
No support for months left by my CPN no update or anything having to refer myself to IAPT to be then told I'm not eligible for support there basically left suffering saying it's only short term therapy when I've had it before and it really helped and they was told this but having a baby and covid found it hard to find time for time stated ro ring and discharged me saying I could self refer in future but now I have I've been told I can't have any help and my CPN will update me with treatment when she's not contacted me since Feb no call back or anything after ringing numerous times. They haven't supported me at all and I feel sorry for further people who have to go through this distress and try there best to obtain help and services don't want to know you. Caused alot of upset and distress and contributed in my mental health declining alot. Shouldn't have to ring numerous times for ure CPN to contact you or not even have a letter to let u know why she's not available and left months of not knowing anything. You try to help ureself by going to IAPT and they don't want to know either this isn't a service it's making people worse been treated in this way how is this a service????
Anonymous

Reply from Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) - Mental Health

Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry that your experience has not lived up to expected standards. All comments received will be taken forward with the appropriate team so we can improve.
If you would like to contact us direct with your concerns please contact our customer services team by:
• Telephone – Freephone 0800 587 2108
• Email – customer.servicesSWYT@nhs.net
• Post – Customer Services, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS, Foundation Trust, Block 10, Fieldhead, Ouchthorpe Lane, Wakefield WF1 3SP
• Fax – 01924 327668


Provider responded

Shocking service by folly hall and the care

July 24, 2021
Shocking service from the enhanced one team at folly hall in Huddersfield I saw someone who didn’t want to listen felt uncomfortable in his presence and no 48 hour care I supposedly had. Think it’s really unfair to not be given the care after just coming out of hospital under a section 2 mental health act no help or support what so ever no advice or help shocking. wanted to really open up but didn’t with the person I saw as didn’t feel comply in his presence at all was made to feel uncomfortable.
Nicola crook

Reply from Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) - Mental Health

Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry that your experience has not lived up to expected standards. All comments received will be taken forward with the appropriate team so we can improve.
If you would like to contact us direct with your concerns please contact our customer services team by:
• Telephone – Freephone 0800 587 2108
• Email – customer.servicesSWYT@nhs.net
• Post – Customer Services, South West Yorkshire Partnership NHS, Foundation Trust, Block 10, Fieldhead, Ouchthorpe Lane, Wakefield WF1 3SP
• Fax – 01924 327668


Provider responded

Helped me live again

June 11, 2020
The counsellor was so in tune with my needs and was able to unpick what I had been burdened with for years.
Anonymous

Waiting time is far too long

February 25, 2020
Length of time waiting is far too long. I've been waiting 8 months to be told that the service has now changed and I need to self refer. I had a telephone interview in June 2019 with IAPT and was told that a health trainer would contact me but the service changed and the new service hadn't had my details passed on from IAPT. I then was told I would need to self refer.
DJ

awful

December 4, 2019
referral november 2018, march 2019 removed then put back on ... waited until november 2019 phoned to see how far i was off getting help only to be told i had been removed in may 2019 they claim they sent letters out which i never got now i am been told i have to start the whole application again that can take upto an year... shocking absolutely shocking to treat someone like this that has mental health problems
martin cooper

Reply from Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) - Mental Health

Dear Martin, I am really sorry to hear about your experience with our service. We always strive to ensure that we offer our patients a high quality patient centered service. I would be grateful if you could contact me to discuss so we can get you access to the service that you need.
01484 343700


Provider responded

So disappointed

September 6, 2019
Had to wait months for my initial six sessions to begin, but was told additional sessions would be available after that if I needed them.

Although the therapist I finally saw was very understanding and compassionate, my six sessions equated to less than two hours contact time. And, despite feeling worse at the end of the six sessions, I was told further sessions were no longer an option.

I was offered some online / self-help treatment instead but, despite writing to them on numerous occasions, I have not heard a thing from them. (This may be to do with the fact that I have stated to them I do not wish to discuss my condition with them over the phone, as this is personal stuff - which I'm not up for sharing with GCHQ...)

Signs of incompetence were there right from the beginning - the young lad that did my initial assessment, clearly unexperienced and not really getting what I was saying.

Despite glimmers of hope during my treatment, things have finished off equally disappointing.

This is a far cry from the way things used to be just a few years ago when appointments lasted a lot longer, were incredibly effective and you weren't just cut off and ignored at the end.

If you get referred to IAPT, I would seriously consider going private instead, as your mental health is worth far more than how these people may value it.
Anonymous

Health

February 12, 2019
Very supportive and understanding. Parking and coffee bar
Anonymous

Terrible! Just fobbed off

January 7, 2019
I phoned up after being referred by my GP and I was told to phone IAPT, which was a voicemail ... I NEED HELP!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous

Poor management

September 12, 2018
So far I have going round in circles trying to get my husband a referral to the appropriate service so he can get an appointment to be seen by a professional. the over the phone assessment took place a few months ago and he was diagnosed as needing help and was promised a referral to community links but after making numerous calls to IAPT I am still in the dark as to when my husband will be seen by the relevant professional. I spoke to a manger at IAPT at the beginning of September and explained how I had been told that the referral had been made four weeks ago to community links and i should phone them to obtain an appointment for my husband but on ringing community links have not received any such referral. I also told the manager that I had been sent a letter saying that we were not receiving her calls so she is
discharging my husband when we had not received any calls or messages. At this point I was very disappointed as i had made the referral in April 18 and was concerned that my husband was not receiving the help that he needed as he had beed assessed as needing help. However the manager was quite understanding and understood my frustration so she promised that she would get someone to make the referral asap so they phoned my husband on the same day and went through a series of questions and assured my husband that the referral was going to be made on the same day.

I waited for a month and had not heard anything so phoned IAPT yesterday to check the status of the referral and was shocked to hear that my husband had been discharged from IAPT as he was told to refer himself to community links. I was naturally left extremely disappointed yet again so i spoke to the manager (a different manager was available to the one I had spoken to in the past) who promised he would look into it and get back to me by the end of the day. I waited for a call till the end of the day but no call so I phoned IAPT again this morning asked for the manager, told the manager that i had been waiting for the call he had promised me by the end of the day to which his response was that he staff member should have called my husband. Any way I informed him that we had not received any call on which i was informed that the staff member had to refer my husband again yesterday to community links as there must have been a problem with the email system so community links had not achieved any of the previous referrals. At this point I told the manager that i believe IAPT have poorly managed my husband's case/referrals. His response was: Do you?

My concern and frustration arises from the fact that IAPT is supposed to be helping people with anxiety and mental health disorders not adding to their anxiety and frustration and once a referral is made to them and they have carried out an assessment and identified the need for further treatment required they should be ensuring that the referrals are reaching the relevant bodies and not getting lost in the system as has happened twice in my husband's case. Not everyone who is identified as needing help to mange anxiety or a mental health problem has the support, skills and confidence to pursue the referrals and ring up and enquire about the progress of the referral. Referring yourself to a service like IAPT takes courage and for IAPT to let a patient drop through the system as has happened in our case twice is poor management and lack of care. How many vulnerable people are being neglected by the system and how many families are suffering? Mental health does not only affect one person in the family, it has a domino effect on everyone in the family, so I can only hope that no one else feels the frustration and disappointment we had to endure and our case was an isolated one and not a regular occurrence.
Anonymous